Calling Time

I am very good at telling myself what I need to do, and knowing what should happen, but then not acting on it. On my sabbatical last fall, I said that I needed to re-consider my employment situation and see if something better was possible. Fast-forward a few months and the resulting changes to the management team at my place of employment should have been the signal that I needed to move. The past month, however, has been the 2×4 to the side of the head that was necessary to spur action. After 11 years with my current employer (in a job that was supposed to be six months at most to get us re-settled in Wisconsin back in 2005), I am going to be departing at some point in the near future. The physical, mental, and emotional manifestations of the stress I encounter there on an almost-daily basis make the situation untenable, and since I can’t eradicate the cancer which is causing the distress (and believe that advanced intervention has done and will do no good in relieving it), it’s best that I remove myself from it. I am meeting this afternoon with a couple of trusted men who have gone through job transitions in the past couple of years at around the age which I am now. Hopefully, they will reinforce my own thinking about the situation, share their experiences with moving jobs (or industries) in middle age, and offer some guidance on how to get from Point A to Point B. My sincere hope is that I can land something new soon so that I am able to transition to the new gig following the new year, with my separation from the current one coming prior to the holidays.

If you want more details, feel free to email me (sviar@hotmail.com).

One thought on “Calling Time

  1. Good luck, Scott. I was let go from a 19 yr job at the age of 57. It was hard to swallow, but I’ve found great joy doing something I love. I’m not denying it can be a struggle at first, but persevere, there is something good out there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

