Another Year

On this date back in (not telling you the year, but it was an Olympiad that will be long remembered more for what happened away from the stadiums than what happened in them), I came to the world, all of 7 pounds and 7 ounces, 8 days ahead of when I was due. As I look forward to what might come, the one phrase that comes back to me as a bit of a mantra for the next 365 days is this: Enjoy the moment (extends also to enjoy yourself and enjoy the process).  There are things planned for the next few months that will allow me to HAVE FUN and “just be” rather than having to “be something” or “be someone”.  Allow me:

  • Festivals as a patron. Most of the events I attend with my wife’s pipe band are as support staff, so I don’t really get to watch either the competitions or get to peruse the festivals themselves. With the competition schedule a bit flipped for 2016, I will be able to go to the two local Scottish fests as a patron. Also, with no soccer in the summer, we are looking to attend the Minnesota Scottish Fest (her with our living-history group from the Twin Cities, me as a patron).  I’d also like to go to one of the local parades this summer and not be part of it.
  • Vacation Time!  Most of the time I take away from work is because of events or scheduling conflicts. This year, I hope to actually take some time to just not do anything, although getting me to r-e-l-a-x is a difficult task.
  • The Next Chapter.  Work through that checklist from my previous entry, but view it as self-improvement that feeds me intellectually and spiritually (in a nebulous way). Again, it’s about having fun with it from the start and seeing what comes to pass.

A year ago on this date, I was in full-on work mode and playing catch-up, catch-up, catch-up to get the club in position to take on the 2015 season after a previous 6 months that had me in a bad physical and mental space, but nothing that I felt was out of the ordinary. The next six months would stretch me to my limits both professionally and personally. These last six months have been almost all about recovery and shifting to a better mental and emotional space to pursue this next year on Earth, one that I hope will be remembered on April 30, 2017 as one of my best yet. There is nothing on the docket yet for today, so let’s see what happens.

 

Leave a Reply

